2023 European Mining Course

Triple degree Masters program 2023-2024

The European Mining Course (EMC) is a Master degree which covers every aspect of the life cycle of mineral resources.

The world recognised European Mining Courses (EMC) is offered as a triple degree masters program.

Our partner universities for 2023 are RWTH Aachen, Aalto University and MU Leoben, they provide the highest level of mining education through a structured, flexible exchange.

All application should be made through Aalto University in Helsinki.

Apply for the EMC Masters Program.
Semester 1
Aalto University, Finland
Economic Geology and Mineral Economics (5 ECTS)
Rock Mechanics (5 ECTS)
Field Experience and Project in Hard Rock Mining (5 ECTS)
Fundamentals of Minerals Engineering and Recycling (5 ECTS)
Metal Recycling Technologies (5 ECTS)
Elective studies (5 ECTS)
Semester 2
RWTH Aachen, Germany
Reserve Modelling and Estimation (5 ECTS)
Mine Ventilation (5 ECTS)
Mine Design and Simulation (5 ECTS)
Case study: Mining Projects (5 ECTS)
Feasibility Studies of Mining Projects (5 ECTS)
Mine Waste (5 ECTS)
Semester 3
Montanuniversität Leoben, Austria
Deposit Modelling (2 ECTS)
Open Pit Mining (4 ECTS)
Underground Mining (4 ECTS)
Continuous Mining (3 ECTS)
Mine Ventilation, Water Control, Infrastructure (3 ECTS)
Lab in Mine Ventilation (1 ECT)
Sustainable Development (6 ECTS)
Occupational and Process Safety (3 ECTS)
Elective Studies (4 ECTS)
Semester 4
Thesis carried out at one of the universities or at a company with support from EMC (30 ECTS)
Degree diplomas received

Triple Degree Masters Program

Semester 1. September to December 2023

Aalto University

Aalto covers aspects around deposit characterisation, focusing on economic geology and mineral economics, mate- rials processing and synthesis and rock mechanics.

Semester 2. April - Sept 2024

RWTH Aachen

RTWH Aachen will offer courses connec- ted to deposit sustainability. Courses address mine wastes, feasibility studies and mining and modelling.

Semester 3, October 2024 to January 2025

MU Leoben

The MU Leoben provides courses with focus on deposit development, those include underground mining, deposit modelling and occupational safety.

Semester 4, February to August 2025

Thesis, Home University

The thesis semester covers a 6-month 30 ECTS full-time thesis. Theses might be done with industry partners or at research facilities within the universities.

## Triple-Degree programme

The European Mining Course (EMC) is an triple-degree M.Sc. program hosted by three leading technical universities in Europe:  - RWTH Aachen University (Institute of Mineral Resources Engineering (MRE)), - Aalto University (Helsinki), and - Montanuniversität Leoben.  Alongside with students of these three universities, there are numerous guests from Europe and from all over the world participating in the EMC to explore the international world of mining within their master studies. The EMC covers every aspect of the life cycle of mineral resources. It is designed to provide a solid understanding of the global mining industry and takes a life-cycle approach by covering the entire mining value chain. It offers a state-of-the-art technical basis in resource modelling, mine design and economic evaluation. Technical knowledge is supplemented with topics on business economics, ethics, environmental engineering and a clearly defined and structured program for the management of health, safety and environment.  But there is more to the EMC than just studying abroad! Through guest lectures from industry, excursions and industrial projects, you get a direct insight into the international mining industry and gather valuable contacts for your professional future. The EMC aims to train professionals who will be the future decision-makers in the mineral resources and associated engineering trade, with a strong vision of the future developments in this industry. EMC supports the development of students into adaptive, innovative and entrepreneurially-oriented engineers capable of identifying the best approach to obtain optimal value from mineral ore deposits.


Fees are yet to be finalised for 2023-24, the following are estimates based on 2022-23 fees

1) Aalto University. Tuition fee €0 for EU/EEA citizens, €15,000 / academic year (€7,500 / term) for non-EU/EEA citizens. Student Union Fee: €63 / academic year (2022-23) Student Health Service fee: €36 / term (20232)

2) RWTH Aachen. Tuition fee €0. Social contribution fee: €300 attending semester, not attending €9 (2022-23)

3) Montanuniversität Leoben. Tuition fee: €364 / semester for EU/EEA citizens, students to whom Austria, on the basis of an international treaty, is obliged to grant the same rights of access to the profession as Austrian nationals, and regular students who fall under the groups of persons pursuant, as well as regular students from third countries who have a residence permit other than that for students pursuant to § 64 NAG. €727 / semester for non-EU citizens. Regular students who are citizens of the least developed countries are generally exempt. They only pay the students' union membership fee. Contact: [email protected] for detailed info.


Admitted students may be awarded a scholarship in order to cover the fees and other costs:

FEMP scholarship: awarded to excellent students throughout the programme. 2023-24 students can apply for a FEMP scholarship to help cover some stay and travel costs by contacting the FEMP coordinator.

The Erasmus Mobility Scholarship: covers a max of 12 months of study in a country within the EU. It can only be requested once per academic year for mobility periods taking place outside of your home country. To start the application an Erasmus+ Learning Agreement will need to be completed. Make sure you enquire if you are eligible for this scholarship (only after being accepted into the program).

For non-EU/EEA students: Aalto scholarships (tuition fee waivers) available.

Contact Us

Federation of European Mineral Programs
van Cralingenlaan 20
2241 SC Wassenaar
The Netherlands

+31 (0)6 29 47 48 08

companies - [email protected]
students - [email protected]
coordinator - [email protected]